Our Mission: The Raleigh School is a cooperative community of children, parents and teachers that fosters a love of learning in an atmosphere of challenge, inquiry and respect.


Head of School & Board of Trustees

It is with great enthusiasm and pride that I serve The Raleigh School community as Head of School. TRS is a progressive school with deeply held values and core beliefs that come to life for all who enter the community. That’s The Raleigh School Way!

Our core beliefs shape everyday life on campus and are represented in our school's logo. TRS is a place where ...

Childhood is honored and celebrated while strong foundations are built. Children are seen as capable, unique, and curious by a community that understands and respects child development.

Teaching and learning occur in the way research and experience confirm children learn best--with the child at the center! Learning experiences are authentic, experiential, challenging, and joy-filled, frequently emerging from the interests and inquiries of the child.

A strong community of students, parents, and faculty/staff is nurtured and valued. Through work in classrooms, time on committees, and attendance at educational events, parents are partners in the education of their children, fostering the school’s cooperative spirit and a culture of sharing and inclusion.

Outcomes leading to fulfilling lives are cultivated. Children learn the skills and competencies necessary to effectively work independently and collaboratively; to identify and solve problems; and to be responsible, caring and contributing citizens.

2021-2022 Board of Trustees

As an independent school, The Raleigh School is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation. A board of trustees governs the school and meets monthly. Meetings are open to the school community.

Executive Committee
Chair: Randall Lague
First Vice Chair: Lisa Patel
Second Vice Chair: Michele Jonczak
Treasurer: Charlotte Royster
Secretary: Julie Banks

Board Members at Large
Rob Almony
Michael Berard
Mike Capps
Kevin Ceglowski
Paul McSorley
Pradeep Mettu
Cory Myers
Pamela Norcross
Tami Polge
Andrea Staffhorst
Demitrius Washington

Ex Officio
Head of School: Kelly Banik
Elementary Director: Eric Johnson
Preschool Director: Elizabeth Gilleland